A Drafting Committee for the Ministerial Communiqué 2020 is set up in spring 2019. It is supported by the BFUG Secretariat.

Roadmap for the consultation of the BFUG about the Rome 2020 Draft Communiqué (updated on 22 September 2020)



The Drafting Committee is composed of the Co-chairs chairing in the first semester of 2020 (Croatia, Ukraine), the two outgoing Co-chairs of that period (Finland, Turkey), the former Co-chairs (Romania, North Macedonia), the Vice-chair (Italy), the BFUG Secretariat and one representative of the Consultative Members agreed amongst them. For the period 2018-2020, the European Students' Union (ESU) will represent the Consultative Members.



The Drafting Committee is entrusted with the responsibility to prepare the Draft Communiqué. A communiqué is adopted at each Ministerial Conference that outlines decisions taken by the Ministers about the central aspects of the EHEA, including its further developments and commitments by its member countries, the new applications for membership to the EHEA as well as any other main changes to the process.
The Drafting Committee co-ordinates the proposals coming from the Advisory, Coordination and Working Groups. The Committee writes a draft Communiqué which is discussed by the BFUG and the Ministers at the Ministerial Conference. It is responsible for reviewing all proposed amendments.