United Kingdom

The United Kingdom has been a full member of the Bologna Process / European Higher Education Area since 1999.



Responsible national authority

Department for Education



Recognised higher education institutions

Universities UK

Association of Colleges




Academic recognition body/ bodies




National students' organisation

National Union of Students (NUS-UK)



National Teachers' representatives organisation

University and College Union (UCU)



Quality Assurance Agency

Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA)



Qualifications framework

Qualification and Credit Framework for England, Wales and Northern Ireland



EU education programmes' contact person

Erasmus+ national agency

International Credit Mobility