The European Higher Education Area

The Bologna Process, launched with the Bologna Declaration of 1999, is one of the main voluntary processes at European level, as it is nowadays implemented in 49 States, which define the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).

Read more


The Ministerial Conferences

Every two or three years there are Ministerial Conferences organised in order to assess the progress made within the EHEA and to decide on the new steps to be taken.

The Ministerial Conferences have taken place in Bologna, 18-19 June 1999 - Prague, 18-19 May 2001 - Berlin, 18-19 September 2003 - Bergen, 19-20 May 2005 - London, 17-18 May 2007 - Leuven/Louvain-la-Neuve, 28-29 April 2009 - Budapest/Vienna, 10-12 March 2010 - Bucharest, 26-27 April 2012 - Yerevan, 14-15 May 2015 - Paris, 24-25 May 2018, Rome (virtual), 19 November 2020.

The next Ministerial Conference is going to take place in Albania in May/June 2024.

 Read more



The Bologna Follow-Up Group

The Bologna Follow-Up Group - BFUG - is the executive structure supporting the Bologna Process in-between the Ministerial Conferences. It is in place since autumn 1999.

The work between two meetings of the Bologna Follow-up Group is overseen by a Board.

Read more


The Bologna Follow-Up Group Secretariat

The overall follow-up work is supported by a Secretariat, provided by the country hosting the next Ministerial Conference.

Between 1 July 2018 and 31 December 2020, the Secretariat of the Bologna Follow-up Group was held by Italy, as organizer of the 2020 EHEA Ministerial Conference.

Between 1 January 2021 and 30 June 2024, the Secretariat of the Bologna Follow-up Group is held by Albania, as organizer of the 2024 EHEA Ministerial Conference.

Read More